Time Flies and Then Some

Wow, where do I begin?  Things have been crazy around here, crazy good and crazy bad, depending on your point of view, but this is where we are now.  I haven’t written since, Wow, August?!, boy does time fly.  I’ll try to catch you up and I’ll try to make it short. 🙂

Well, I guess the first thing is the store makeover.  Both inside and outside of the store have been completely repainted.  Outside we went from this.

Old store colours

Old store colours

To this

New Store Colours :)

New Store Colours 🙂

I’ve gotta say I LOVE it and I have received a ton of compliments!!  Then the inside when from yellow

 

Bright Yellow Wall

Bright Yellow Wall

Kingman model

to beige.

It was a lot of work but well worth the effort, I think 🙂

In October, Brian and I finally had a vacation!  We flew to New Brunswick to visit with my Dad.  The last time we had been there, or anywhere for that matter, was 8 1/2 years before when we went out there when Dad got married.  It’s not that we don’t want to vacation or anything like that, my Mom and Stepdad are always asking us to come and visit with them in either Calgary or Florida, but life just seems to get in the way.

The big lobster in Shediac

The big lobster in Shediac

As it turns out, we discovered that we like to vacation and we like the Video Lottery Terminals that they have just about anywhere you go out there 🙂  We managed to win a few bucks from the machines at the local legion 🙂

Well, we made it home safe and sound and got back into the routine of daily life.  Brian back to his nursing and me back to shop keeping.  We both love what we do, but it’s good to get away.

So now here’s the crazy bit.  I come home and not one, but two of my friends who have (had) stores in town have decided to close.  (I’ve shortened the time line a bit to try and keep things brief) One has moved to be closer to her daughters and the other is taking her life back and doing the things she wants like going to visit her family in England over Christmas.  I think she said she’s going for a month.  Ya just can’t do that and run a store at the same time!

Both asked me if I’d be interested in taking some of their products into my store.  I said sure as it works out well for everyone.  They aren’t stuck with a house full of inventory, I get some great new products to offer and their existing customers can still find what they are looking for in the same town!

So now in my 230 square foot store you can find everything from Tea to Trinkets, Waterford Crystal to Western Wear, Soap to Steampunk Fairies and yes even Unicorns and Dragons!!DSCN3428

And finally, I have got my famous Christmas Tree up (side down)

Our famous upside down Christmas Tree :)

Our famous upside down Christmas Tree 🙂

So for now thats about it, I guess.  Over the next few days I’ll be taking pictures of all the fabulous new stuff and uploading them here so you can check em out and maybe find the perfect Christmas gift for that special someone.

TTFN

Sherry

1 Comment

Filed under Christmas, General Babbling, Window Display

One response to “Time Flies and Then Some

  1. Joan E Cross

    The store looks great both inside and out Keep up the good work

    Like