Mmmm Fruitcake!

Ah yes, the much maligned fruitcake.

English: Trappist Abbey Fruitcake from the Our...
English: Trappist Abbey Fruitcake from the Our Lady of Guadalupe Trappist Abbey in Lafayette, Oregon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fruitcake is associated with Christmas time but the oldest reference to fruitcake dates back to the Roman times when soldiers brought it with them to the battlefields.  It consisted of pomegranate seeds, pine nuts and barley mash.

During the Middle Ages, preserved fruit, spices and honey were added.  Crusaders carried this type of cake to sustain themselves when they were away from home for long periods of time.  A good fruitcake that contains alcohol could remain edible for many years.

Each new century brought it’s own addition to the fruitcake from sugar to candied fruits, to nuts.  By the early 18th century fruitcakes were proclaimed Sinfully Rich and were outlawed in Continental Europe due to their decadence.  Luckily that law was repealed 🙂

I really don’t understand why people, not just dislike but Hate fruitcake.  Today’s fruitcake is rich and filled with fruits and nuts, history and decadence… what’s not to like?

I’ve heard of people giving a fruitcake so someone they don’t particularly like but are obligated to give a gift to, or that a fruitcake would make a better doorstop or anchor.  How sad is that 😦

All I have to say is I LIKE FRUIT CAKE! and I don’t care who knows it 🙂  particularly the darker, heavier kind that has the almond icing on top.  I tend to eat it from the bottom up leaving the little gem of icing for last.  I like it when I bite into a piece and a marachino cherry pops in my mouth!  Just a little sliver is enough to satisfy my craving, and just writing about it now, I am craving some.

Did you know that there is The Society for the Protection and Preservation or Fruitcake?  Well there is and I guess that means I’m not the only person who enjoys it 🙂

If someone gifts you with a fruitcake, please don’t use it as a doorstop, or an anchor, send it on to me and it will find a good home with someone who will enjoy every morsel, I don’t mind being re-gifted 🙂

Merry Christmas everyone 🙂

Sherry

Comments Off on Mmmm Fruitcake!

Filed under Christmas, General Babbling

Comments are closed.