Forever Leather Roses

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, so I though I’d show you what I’ve been up to.  While doing a bit of cleaning up I came across a stash of leather that I’ve been hanging onto without any clue what to do with it.  Then it hit me… duh, leather roses!  I’m not a leather worker, but I did do a bit as a kid in school art class, so I dug deep into my memory banks and this is what I’ve managed to pull out.

Forever Rose

Each rose measures approximately 3″ across and is on an 18″ stem.  Each leaf & petal are hand sculpted by me, so no two roses, as in nature, will ever be alike.  I add two leaves of cow hide that still has the fur on it.  Well, I’m not sure if cows have fur, but I’m sure you know what I mean.  Anyway, to me, the fur gives the leaves a different texture from the leather of the rose.  Each rose takes a minimum of 2 hours to complete.

Close up of cow hide leaf.

Close up #2 of cow hide leaf

I’m lucky to have made some new friends of the girls who recently opened a store next door to me.  C&T Rustic Creations.  They carry a variety of rustic & western home decor.  Since they use a lot of leather & cow hide they have a lot of scraps that they have given to me, hence the furry leaves.  :~}

Here are a couple of close up pictures.

Close up of camel coloured rose

Dark rose close up

And yet another of 3 roses together.

3 Forever Leather Roses

Each Forever Leather Rose is priced at just $19.99 each, and are available in a myriad of colours.  They make fantastic gifts for a first date, or for an anniversary, or a unique Valentine’s Day gift.

I’ll post more pictures as I get them completed.  Thanks to the girls next door I’ve got a limited supply of rusty barb wire that I will be using as stems for those who are a little more… adventurous :~}

I’ve got a few other ideas to make with the roses too such as Key Fobs, Hair Ties, Shoe Clips and who knows what else.  Got any ideas as to what you’d like to see me make with a leather rose?  Please leave a comment and pass on your thoughts, I’d love to hear what you think.

Until next time,

Sherry

2 Comments

Filed under Leather Roses

2 responses to “Forever Leather Roses

  1. Pingback: Hello again, Hello :) « Sherry's on Main Blog

  2. Joan

    Of all the leather roses I’ve looked at, your roses are far superior and are more realistic than others I’ve seen onliine. I like that the petals are sculpted individually and that you have matching leather leaves on the stem.

    Keep up the beautiful work.
    Joan

    Like