Blooming Corn Plant Chronicles

Three & a half years ago, my husband and I purchased our first home.  A large 130+ year old home with very high ceilings.  At the time I was offered a large plant that couldn’t be keep by the original owners anymore because it had grown so tall it was hitting the ceiling.  The people told us it was the first plant that they had gotten when the got together, it was in it’s original pot and it was 34 years old!  They said that they’d prefer it went to a good home rather than have to cut it off and have it possibly die.  Well, I jumped at the chance to get this plant.  I didn’t even know what it was.  We manage to get the behemoth home and the only logical place to put it was in the stairwell.

The first thing you see as you walk in the front door is this giant plant that I’ve since learned is a Corn Plant or Dracaena fragrans.  Here is a view of it looking up.

Corn Plant looking up

And here is a view of it looking down from the second story.

Looking down

Now, I didn’t know that these plants bloomed.  As a matter of fact I didn’t know much about these plants at all until last fall.  I came home from the store one day and I could smell this really pleasant fragrance in the house that I couldn’t place.  So, I start looking around to find the source of the scent.  Now as I said before we have a large house and there are some rooms that we just don’t ever go into and those rooms are the ones in the front of the house up stairs.  So I go sniffing around and start heading for the front of the house and the fragrance gets stronger.  I follow my nose up the stairs and lo and behold there at the very top of the monster plant in the stairwell there is this long bloom!!!  I really wish that we could have smelloblog here because the fragrance is just heavenly.  It filled the entire house.  We’d wake up in the morning to it and go to bed at night to it.  And then it was gone 😦

I’ve been longing for that fragrance to come back ever since.  Well to my great surprise, on Monday I happened to be at the top of the stairs and noticed another inflorescence coming out of the top of our Corn Plant!!

Dracaena inflorescence

Isn’t she beautiful!  The growth of the inflo happens so quickly that I’m gonna take pictures of it every day when I get home and post the progress here for you all to see.  These pictures were taken yesterday at about 5:15 pm.  The only thing you’ll miss is the lovely fragrance and having to vacuum up the tiny brown flowers after they have dropped!

If you have any questions or comments please feel free, I love comments 🙂

Sherry

4 Comments

Filed under General Babbling

4 responses to “Blooming Corn Plant Chronicles

  1. Kat Cameron

    Wow She’s a beauty!! the flower is so cool! Are you still in touch with the folks that you adopted it from? They would probably get a kick out of it’s progress. Wonder if it ever flowered for them? but then, Sherry, you have an amazing green thumb!

    Like

    • I haven’t seen them in ages, they used to walk past the store on a daily basis, but not any more. She wasn’t well, so it makes me wonder. They are Daphne’s neighbours, so the last time it bloomed I told her to pass on the good news and that they had an open invitation to visit it any time they wanted. They never did come by. Oh well, you’ll have to come over once it’s opened and releasing it’s scent, you just wouldn’t believe it!! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve never thought to measure this plant, I’ll try to remember to do that tonight. It gets light from a small window in the stairway that faces south and from the window in the door from the balcony that faces west. I guess it’s just the right amount of sunlight that makes it happy, which in turn makes me happy too 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m not a plant expert, but I’m thinking this isn’t a corn plant – I think it’s Jack and the Beanstalk. LOL!

    Seriously, what a cool plant! Wonder how tall it will get? If someone had left a plant behind for me, I’m afraid my story would have a sad ending – I’ve killed more house plants than I care to admit. My mom grew beautiful house plants, but apparently, I didn’t get her green thumb (nor her sunroom with huge windows – that may have something to do with it!)

    Like