Shabby Chic Paris

I’ve been in a Romantic Frou frou kind of mood lately.  Maybe its because it’s gotten cold outside, or maybe because I’m coming up on 20 years of marriage to my wonderful husband Brian or maybe it’s just because.  I just want that girly, frilly, soft, prettiness around me.  So armed with my sewing machine, my IMac and some imagination, I’ve made these.  I’m calling it my Shabby Chic Paris Collection.

Shabby Chic Paris Gift Bags $5.99 each Sold Pieces: High Button Shoe, Paris, Atomizer, Crown, Tea Time

High Button Boot Advertisement SOLD

These gift bags are not stamped, the image is printed directly on the fabric.  The pictures are all royalty free images offered up by The Graphics Fairy.  I’m so glad I found her blog because through her graphics came my  inspiration.

The bags are made of 100% cotton muslin and measure approximately 4.75” x 7” with a touch of bling with a drawstring closure .  I’m not sure if you can tell in the photos, but I have attached individual gems for just a touch of sparkle.  These Shabby Chic Paris gift bags are a perfect little gift on their own or to make a gift extra special.  You could just fill them with some pot pourri and hang them on a door nob, or as chance would have it, 2 of my Parson House Soap & Candle Co. bars of soap fit inside perfectly.

Don’t think that this is the extent of my imagination.  I’m having a blast making these, but also in the works are Shabby Chic Paris tote bags, throw cushions, sachets, framed prints and who knows what else!!

Stay tuned and have a wonderful Shabby Chic Day.

Sherry

32 Comments

Filed under Shabby Chic Paris Collection

32 responses to “Shabby Chic Paris

  1. These are gorgeous! I guess it would not work at all as I buy my bags. That would be too bulky I would assume to try and print. I sure would love to be able to print my gift bags myself.

    Like

  2. Came here via GF, very pretty bags. I have a large bag of linen sitting around (I got for $2)!. I must try these. If I may comment on Sue’s question, I print on such fabric by adhering to card stock. It’s never a good idea to put fabric directly through printer as it can snag and get stuck and ruin the printer completely. Attaching fabric to 8.5×11 card stock with adhesive spray would make it go through easily provided you have taken care of loose threads etc.

    Like

    • Must be dumb luck for me, I’ve been doing it like this with no problems at all! But then again, I cut my fabric with a rotary cutter and make sure there are no loose threads left behind 🙂 Thanks 🙂

      Sherry

      Like

  3. These are really nice Sherry! I featured them on my FB page with a link back to this page. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Oh thank you very much Carmen! I couldn’t believe how much attention one little feature on Karen’s blog brought me. I have a ton of new likes on BOTH my facebook pages and on Saturday alone my hits on this blog went over 1700!!! Squee 😀

      Like

  4. Sherry – I had heard that printer ink is not permanent on fabric. Do you have a special printer? Thank You.

    Like

  5. I love your bags, they are so vintage and romantic! Love the Graphics Fairy too, been a follower for years!

    Like

  6. Angie

    Hi Sherry, I just love your bags and have made a memory quilt printing family photos onto muslin with my printer. Do you treat the fabric first with bubblejetset so the prints don’t run when you wash them? If not, what type of printer do you have? I am really intrigued as your prints look so crisp. Thank you Angie, Australia

    Like

    • Thank you Angie,
      The printer I use is a very old lexmark. I started doing this when I figured that when refilling the ink and you manage to stain your clothes (permanently 😛 ) why wouldn’t it work when you want to do it permanently 🙂 All I did to set the ink was iron it. I tried a sample, ironed it then washed it… there was a very minimal amount of fading after washing, so I guess it worked 🙂

      Sherry

      Like

  7. Pat C.

    Me, too… I’m another Graphics Fairy follower.♥ I lovelovelove these bags! Have you continued making them since designing the Shabby Chic Paris Collection? I would think you wouldn’t be able to keep them in stock! xoxo

    Like

    • Hahaha Pat, yes, I do continue to make them and they do sell as fast as I can get them done! That’s why you don’t see anything “new” on my site. Some things, like these bags and my Screen Savers I make right here at the store when things are quiet, other things like my soaps and candles I make at home, so trying to stay on top of everything gets a little crazy! Just today I agreed to make a couple of screen savers for a lady in a specific colour and I agreed to reupholster a chair for another lady… what am I thinking!!! Oh well, that’s what I do 😛

      Like

  8. Gorgeous and very creative, Sherry! I followed Karen’s link to find the high-buttoned shoe – but it was not one of the four listed. I have now gone through several other topics trying to locate this shoe – but I’m not having any success. 😦 Please help me with a link or suggestion of where to go now??? Merci!
    blukazam@yahoo.com

    Like

    • Thank you very much!! 🙂 I originally found the image on Karen’s site, it may have been called something different though. The only thing I could suggest is to ask Karen herself. I’m pretty sure once the images are there she leaves them on the site, so it has to be there somewhere. Sorry I can’t be more help.
      Sherry

      Like

  9. I love these bags Sherry! I found you over at Graphic’s Fairy and what a delight! Blessings to you!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Muslin Handmade Bags - Reader Featured Project - The Graphics Fairy

  11. Pingback: 2010 in review « Sherry's on Main Blog

  12. Beautiful bags! I love the gems you added too! Thanks for linking this up to Brag Monday.

    Like

  13. I love those bags! What a great idea!

    Like

  14. These are beautiful….very creative 🙂

    Like

  15. These are simply gorgeous! Talented woman you are!

    Like

  16. These bags are so pretty and beautiful. Lovely projects.

    Like

  17. Oh, those are absolutely gorgeous!

    Like

  18. Stacy

    First, I want to say how awesome your stuff is!!! You should be proud of yourself. Second, the “Paris Collection” gift bags…how is your image transferred to the fabric? Is it an iron-on transfer?

    Thank you,
    Stacy

    Like

    • Hi Stacy,
      Thank you very much for you kind words. I just love it when people comment on my stuff… Squeee!!
      The image isn’t transferred onto the fabric at all, they are not stamps nor are they iron on transfers. I print the image directly onto the fabric itself. The bags can be laundered as well. Just toss them in the washing machine, cold water and toss into the dryer. If necessary iron with a dry iron, this will keep the natural creases in the fabric, but still have a pressed look.

      Hope that helps,
      Sherry

      Like

  19. Thank you Donna, I’m having a great time deciding what designs to put on them, and the ideas floating in my head are fighting to see who gets to come out first!!

    Like

  20. donna robertson

    I love your shabby chic collection and can’t wait to see more items. What a wonderful and unique idea. you go girlfriend!!!!!!!!!

    Like